English Section

CEE FMs mark 20 years of International Visegrad Fund

10.06.2020 11:30
The foreign ministers of Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Slovakia have marked 20 years since their four countries established the International Visegrad Fund, a key instrument of regional cooperation.

In a joint declaration, the four top diplomats said the International Visegrad Fund, with its seat in the Slovak capital Bratislava, has demonstrated “the viability of the Visegrad Group as a platform for sharing civic, cultural, scientific, educational and innovative concepts.”

The Visegrad Group, or V4, is a regional cooperation platform that the four Central and Eastern European (CEE) countries started in 1991.

The International Visegrad Fund, launched in June 2000, aims to support projects “to bring together people inside the V4 region but also within Europe as a common continent," thus making "its own contribution to the process of the European integration,” according to the declaration, as cited by the Polish foreign ministry on its website.

In the statement, the V4 countries reiterated their “commitment to the promotion of regional cooperation and solidarity within the V4 as well towards other countries, especially in the neighbouring Western Balkans and Eastern Partnership regions.”

Meanwhile, Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz last month hailed a declaration by officials that Hungary would join the Three Seas Initiative Investment Fund, an effort to help finance infrastructure projects in Central and Eastern Europe.


Source: gov.pl