English Section

Pole elected to Board of European Theatre Convention

15.11.2023 23:45
Norbert Rakowski, Artistic Director of the Jan Kochanowski Theatre in Opole, southern Poland, has been elected as vice-president of the Board of the European Theatre Convention.
Pixabay License
Pixabay LicenseImage by PIRO4D from Pixabay

The election took place during the ETC International Theatre Conference at the National Theatre in Timisoara, Romania.

Cláudia Belchior, Artistic Advisor at the Centro Cultural de Belém in Lisbon is the new President of the Board.

Norbert Rakowski is a graduate of the Drama Academy in Warsaw. He took to directing in 2000 after several years’ long acting career. He has served as Artistic Director of the Jan Kochanowski Theatre in Opole since 2015.

Founded in 1988, the European Theatre Convention (ETC) brings together public theatres in 31 countries. It promotes European theatre as a platform for dialogue, democracy and interaction, and supports collaborative projects.

The Opole Theatre is one of ETC’s 64 members. It joined the organisation in 2019. Earlier this year, Opole hosted the European Theatre Forum and the ETC Conference. 

Last month, the Opole Theatre was the venue for "The Best European Show," a satirical comedy about contemporary Europe and its theatre scene, which was a joint undertaking by the Fondazione Teatro Due Parma in Italy, the Kosovo National Theatre, Teatru Malta, and the National Theatre of Nova Gorica in Slovenia, with the Opole Theatre acting as the project’s executive co-producer.