English Section

Polish government reshuffle introduces new ministers

10.05.2024 14:30
In a cabinet reshuffle, Polish Prime Minister Donald Tusk announced the appointment of four new ministers on Friday.
Polish Prime Minister Donald Tusk with the new ministers.
Polish Prime Minister Donald Tusk with the new ministers.Photo: PAP/Radek Pietruszka

The appointments aim to leverage their professional skills in advancing Poland’s governance and policy effectiveness, government sources said.

These changes are part of a broader government reshuffle anticipated for months, prompted by the current ministers' candidacy for the upcoming European Parliament elections on June 9. Tusk highlighted the need for fresh perspectives in governance, praising the outgoing ministers for their tenure marked by significant breakthroughs and setting the stage for a phase focused on "organizing and moving forward."

For example, the outgoing Minister for Culture and National Heritage, Bartłomiej Sienkiewicz, spearheaded the new administration’s efforts to restore democratic controls to public media organizations, following increasing politicization by the previous populist government. This included the recently announced possible indictment of the head of the country's media regulator, KRRiT, Maciej Świrski, for alleged illegal activities.

The reshuffle introduces a group of ministers with a range of professional expertise. Tomasz Siemoniak, the new Minister of Interior and Administration and Coordinator of Special Services, has a background in defense, having previously served as the Minister of National Defense.

Hanna Wróblewska, the incoming Minister of Culture and National Heritage, is an art historian, curator and high-profile cultural manager, recognized for her previous role as director at Warsaw's Zachęta National Gallery of Art.

Jakub Jaworowski, taking over the Ministry of State Assets, has experience in government finance, while Krzysztof Paszyk, now at the helm of the Ministry of Economic Development and Technology, is known for his work in both local body and parliamentary politics.

The new ministers will officially assume their roles on Monday, 13 May.


Source: IAR, PAP, Polskie Radio 24