English Section

Polish far-right group launches nationwide tour ahead of elections

18.08.2023 13:00
The leaders of Poland’s far-right Confederation group have said they will embark on a tour of the country on Friday to rally support for their political programme ahead of parliamentary elections scheduled for October 15.
The leaders of Polands far-right Confederation group, Krzysztof Bosak (left) and Sławomir Mentzen (right).
The leaders of Poland's far-right Confederation group, Krzysztof Bosak (left) and Sławomir Mentzen (right). PAP/Albert Zawada

Krzysztof Bosak and Sławomir Mentzen are planning to visit Poland’s 18 largest cities by October 7, state news agency PAP reported.

The first stop on their group’s campaign trail is the south-central city of Kielce, according to the PAP news agency.

Bosak told reporters that his meetings with voters would "in some ways" resemble music concerts, “but with speeches as the main element.”

He added that the tour would be “spectacular” and "hopefully the best electoral tour of this campaign.” 

While Bosak and Mentzen are expected to be the main speakers, other Confederation politicians will also take to the stage, the PAP news agency reported.

After the rally in Kielce on Friday, Confederation leaders are scheduled to meet with voters in Bielsko-Biała, Rzeszów, Białystok, Olsztyn, Kraków and Zielona Góra later this month.

Next month they plan to visit Toruń, Gdańsk, Bydgoszcz, Poznań, Szczecin, Wrocław, Opole and Nowy Sącz. In October, they will follow up with election rallies in Łódź, Lublin and Warsaw. 

The far-right group, which is polling third in most surveys, behind the governing conservatives and the centrist opposition Civic Coalition (KO), will also hold an electoral convention in Katowice on September 23, the PAP news agency reported.

Poland's lawmakers on Thursday approved a government plan to combine the parliamentary elections on October 15 with a nationwide referendum on issues including illegal migration.

In the parliamentary elections, Poles will head to the ballot box to elect 460 new MPs and 100 senators for a four-year term.


Source: PAP