English Section

V4 FMs voice solidarity with Prague amid tensions with Moscow

20.04.2021 08:10
Top diplomats from Poland, Slovakia and Hungary have voiced solidarity with the Czech Republic amid tensions with Russia.
Polish Foreign Minister Zbigniew Rau.
Polish Foreign Minister Zbigniew Rau.Photo: PAP/Mateusz Marek

Prague on Saturday announced the expulsion of 18 Russian diplomats over suspicions that Russian military intelligence officers were involved in the explosion of an ammunition depot in the Czech Republic in 2014.

In a joint statement, Poland’s Foreign Minister Zbigniew Rau and his counterparts from Slovakia and Hungary on Monday condemned “all activities aimed at threatening the security of sovereign states” and their citizens.

The three countries said they were ready to “further strengthen” their “resilience against subversive actions” at both the national level and together with their NATO allies and within the European Union.

Poland, Slovakia, Hungary and the Czech Republic together form a four-nation regional cooperation platform known as the Visegrad Group, or V4.

All four countries are members of the EU and NATO.

The Polish foreign ministry on Sunday voiced its full support of the Czech Republic's decision to expel the Russian diplomats.


Source: IAR, gov.pl